May 2013 Part 2 – Fresh off the Press

Pretty much as soon as I got home, I started scheduling my many appointments. I was fortunate enough to get most of the tests done at the local hospital, with the exception of my gyno appointment and my brain SPECT scan that I had to get at a bigger hospital as it is not as common of a test.  

 

My first tests, that I took a couple days after my arrival home, were my bloodwork. The form was pretty much full of checkmarks that I brought into the hospital. Luckily, they can use a tube to conduct several different tests. It looked like a lot but they said it was probably just under a pint. 

 Image

I hate having my blood drawn, not because of a needle phobia or anything of that sort, but because they always have a terrible time “sticking” me. I always tell them to use a butterfly needle as soon as I get in there, but sometimes after trying both arms with multiple stab wounds, they usually have to stick my hands.  One of the times, which was very strange, they actually got it in my arm after a few tries, and they were confused because all of a sudden my blood stopped flowing and was almost sludgy. Who the heck knows. Fortunately, they called whomever does the labs and they said they had enough to get by with the tests so I didn’t have to come in another day. Blood tests were one of the major advantages of having the PICC line. They would just hook it up to my line, do a “throw away” first tube, then continue to draw whatever was needed, no needles at all. 

 

I always google search everything as sometimes the Dr’s  won’t necessarily tell you the things that they might believe is going on until they know for sure, and I like to try to figure out what they are thinking, beforehand.  I always take a look at the bloodwork papers Dr S gives me to try to see what he is thinking because most of the tests I already know what they are because they are the usual tests, but sometimes he slips another check mark off that I haven’t seen before.

 

 Lucky me, he is almost ALWAYS right. Even with the bad news. Which I usually get via e-mail,  followed by a “happy weekend!” ,  or a witty remark or play on words that I hardly ever understand and Dave has to explain it to me, then proceeds to tease me for the rest  of the night  for not understanding what the heck Dr. S  is talking about half the time with his witty remarks . Maybe I just can’t translate writing into what would be an actual conversation. Maybe I am just simple and not witty or clever,  I don’t know.  I always use the excuse to Dave, “give me a break, I have bugs eating my brain.” 

 

After a few weeks I had gotten my notes back from DC. I think it is extremely helpful when Dr’s do this, especially when you aren’t feeling well, as it is hard to remember every little thing they do or say to you. Every single appointment with Dr S he has always given me notes about what was talked about during the appointment. 

 

Upon reviewing the my DC notes, I kind of had to “interpret” some of the things that were on the paper. They listed their impressions upon the visit and most of the things that I had to look up were on the neurologic part of the test (probably the tuning fork and other exercises). There were terms like pallesthesias, dysmetria, and positive diadiadochokinesia, Hoffman’s positive, hyperflexia, basal ganglia, mid clonism Babinski, and Romberg. Sayyy whaaaat?  I had my google searches to do once again after I read their notes for sure.  

 

Most of these terms they used  just mean I have a lot of neuro stuff going on: I suck at feeling things and don’t have good motor reflexes. Why can’t they just say that? Way easier, saves  30 minutes on google trying to “interpret”  everything and makes you think they are worse than what they really are. For a “normal” person like me, when reading the notes I got a little overwhelmed hearing all those terms. They  also wrote about my seizure activity, mood disorder (rage and obsessive compulsive tendencies), why they ordered some of the tests ( all based on symptoms),  as well as my extensive history that we went through together.

 

The clinic’s comments and strategies for treatment for this time were that they felt it was imperative to help with stabilizing ongoing seizure activity, pain, sleep disruptions and so forth. They felt it was extremely important to help manage neuroirritability, endocrine disfunction, nutritional deficiencies, detoxification and maintaining low systematic inflammation. So basically, getting my system more in control before going back on IV treatment.

 

 

I had to laugh at a couple of the notes though, one being “slightly protuberant abdomen”, meaning I have a little gut (I use to back in the day have a 38 inch waist when I was on the bud light diet and I am way smaller now, at around 27 inches) I have a little pot belly…whateva! The other note being “slight ptosis on the right”. I had to look that one up. That means droopy eyelid, by the way. Geesh, blow after blow to  the self esteem this month!  Thank you lyme for completely ruining my entirely possible modeling career. LOL

 

Leave a Reply

