August Part 12 – Taking a Break from Antibiotics

 

I have been on my antibiotic break until I head back to DC in a few days. My first day off, which happened to be on a Saturday, I got to sleep in since I don’t have to be at work at a specific time that day, which was great because I haven’t been having a lot of sleep lately, despite my meds. I still woke up feeling unrested and a little sore but not too shabby. I was able to get everything I needed to get done in the tub and wash my own hair in the tub, which is a task in itself since I don’t have one of those nozzle spray hose things. Yay! So fresh and so clean clean! 🙂  

 

Easy day at work,  and was able to relax and had the time to do a lactated ringer. My tics weren’t bad at all, and when Dave got home, he took me out to dinner and I did fairly well. I stuttered a lot when I ordered,  “I I I want the stuffed haddock, No no no no I I I mean mean mean the ca cajun glue glue gluten free one”. So of course a great opportunity for Dave to tease me about it lol But, all in all, first day was not bad. 

 

My second day I wasn’t feeling it at all. I had a hard time getting up for bed without a doubt. Fortunately, I have the best husband ever and he had a coffee waiting for me on our bookcase as he had already run errands in town and was outside working on his truck. What a good boy. My knees and body just plain ached. I rarely have a Sunday off, and since I am going to DC soon, I had a few house things I wanted to get done like do a few batches of laundry (wash,dry and put in my “clean hamper”), sweep, and clean the kitchen and bathroom counter. Did I accomplish any of that? The answer is NO. I sat on the couch the entire day aside from picking up a salad and sub for Dave in town. And no, if you were wondering, not the place that I flipped out on as they probably have my phone number attached to the register. 

 

By nighttime, I did not know what to do with my left knee. It hurt so bad. I have had more joint pain since treatment but this was taken to a whole new level. I tried to elevate it, walk around to loosen it up some, I felt like the “tin man” only in pain. I decided the couch was probably best..

 

And then the crazy in me came out. Fleas on my arms, on my legs, in my hair. I could see them jumping. Making my skin itch and causing me to pick at my scalp and scratch my arms and legs. I know my house does not have fleas. But they were there. In my peripheral vision I could see a little black spider. One minute he would be on the left side of the couch crawling into the cushion, then the right. I moved the couch cushions and nothing was there. Maybe he hid. But I know in the back of my mind that it was probably all in my head as well. 

 

I fell trying to get up to get ready for bed, and slammed myself into the bathroom door because that leg just didn’t want to cooperate anymore. Klonopin. Heart med. Bed. Toss and turn, sleep. 

 

My third day I didn’t feel a whole lot different than the day before; I felt like I had been hit by a train. My alarm was set for 8 a.m. It is loud. When I tell you loud, I mean LOUD. And it goes off every 5 minutes until someone shuts it off. A little after 10 a.m., I finally heard the alarm, shut it off, saw the time and thought to myself, ohhh fuck. Late again. Damnit. 

 

Not really a whole lot I could do, since I don’t have the power to turn back the hands of time, other than call and say I was running late. No shit, sherlock! So quick tubby as it was a powerline dressing change day and had to shave my pits, didn’t want to scare anyone LOL and out the door I went. I didn’t have time to even think about how I was feeling, until I sat down at work. Foggy headed. And sore. 

 

I worked my hard hour and a half and made it to my appointment. I felt better once I got there and got to lay down for a bit while they did everything, and noticed now, since I am not ticking nearly as bad, I get a lot of “you look great!” compliments. Well, to be fair, The crew at the hospital and a lot of others have seen me frail at 105 pounds and completely green, so I guess I do look pretty good compared to the past. But I definitely don’t feel it. But I can hide it very well. I have for years. Unless you see my tics and I am having a hard time walking that day, you would never know a thing. I cover my line. I look like a normal girl with a hangover now. And I am okay with that. 🙂 A step toward recovery. 

 

The rest of the day I sat on my ass, doing absolutely nothing. Dave forced me to get up and help with dinner, as my dog decided to tear up my deck to kill a mouse, so between him giving the dog a bath and fixing the deck, I would agree it was only fair to slave over the stove and make baked beans and throw a few sliced hot dogs in it. Done. Fair trade, right?

 Image

And lastly…. I became a leopard! Like I said in my past post “A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words”, I am taking pictures of everything weird now so no one thinks I am full of shit when telling them new things during each month of treatment. By the way, I never had freckles on my shoulders until I started treatment. No idea why. And don’t know why I started having the white spots. I am an interesting one 🙂 

 

I have one more day to get through and then I go back to DC. Lymph drainage and massage, a half ass shower and hair washing, and hopefully a relatively sane and tolerable pain day. Haha. Sane and pain rhyme. Okay. I need sleep. Meds are kicking in. Wish me luck! 

 

2 thoughts on “August Part 12 – Taking a Break from Antibiotics

Leave a Reply

