Lyme Rage

 Image
Ok, you have heard me use this term over and over again, and I wanted to be able to explain the science behind it. I have been notorious for having a horrible case of Lyme rage, from snapping at the drop of the hat, forcing me into an inescapable feeling of anger. This happens a lot to me sometimes without a trigger, but is usually when driving, dealing with idiots, trying to get work done, loud noises, bright light, or just feeling completely hopeless trying to get even the simplest tasks done that I just can’t do. Blackout mad. Screaming, yelling, throwing things, breaking things. I don’t even remember things I say most of the time. When I do, I can’t believe half of the words that come out of my mouth.

 

 I have said some terrible things, even to complete strangers. I think one of the worst was when I was waiting for a parking spot at the bank, and a “plus sized” woman was in my way, walking across the parking lot to get to the store. I literally started screaming out of the window “Get out of the way, you fat c*nt!, Go kill yourself!”. I was mortified to hear that come out of my mouth. I would NEVER say anything like that about ANYONE. I don’t think I am better than anyone else, also, I use to be considered obese. 

 

So why would I want to say anything like this to someone? I have used the term “word vomit”, as there is no self control. So what makes me do this? Why do I get so angry? It is bad enough that my nickname from Dave is Crazy Kimmie. Am I really crazy? It is obviously not an uncommon thing among Lymies, since it was coined the term “Lyme Rage”. 

 

People with Lyme rage can have all different degrees to this types. Some are just irritable. Some just show anger, usually with some sort of trigger.  Either way, it can come to play in your friendships and relationships.  Some in more serious cases can become very violent, homicidal, or even suicidal. 

 

The science behind Lyme rage. I think there is a collaboration between a few things or scenarios that might bring some of this to light.

 

Of course I check the IDSA’s stance first, to see their take, even though they are always wrong and dumber than a rock (ok, maybe it gave me a little rage by reading it LOL), and their take was that there is no such thing as Lyme rage. They believe there isn’t convincing evidence that Lyme disease can cause any violence or psychosis. Well, coming back to planet Earth, I did find some useful information.

 

An interesting fact I learned is that you are more probable to suffer from Lyme rage if you are fair skinned, or have red hair, as genetically you will have a more difficult time effectively removing toxins from your body. Hmmm…..

 

One researcher, Dr. Rick Sponaugle, strongly believes Lyme rage is caused by your brain being severely over-electrified because it is full of toxins. Interestingly enough, Lyme toxins and MOLD toxins. We all know that mold toxicity is very common among Lymies, so this makes sense. As your brain fills with more and more toxins, it increases your brain’s electrical voltage, causing a phenomenon known as excito-neurotoxicity, which means an abnormally high level of electric current flowing through the brain. When this occurs, it causes anxiety, panic disorders, and severe uncontrollable rage. 

 

This particular researcher also has studied the case of Adam Lanza, the Newtown CT shooter, and has strong belief that he suffered from Lyme and Mold toxicity, sending him into a severe rage. In his studies of over 7,000 patients,, 95% of those with rage, panic disorders, and Asperger’s suffered from undiagnosed Lyme disease. That is a lot. I know that it was released that Lanza suffered from Asperger’s, but maybe he did have undiagnosed Lyme disease that predispositioned him to do the horrible acts that he did with severe rage and detachment from reality. 

 

Patients that have uncontrollable rage issues seem to suffer not only from Lyme, but its pal co-infections, Bartonella and Babesia. The two co-infections seem to inflict those with Lyme more so neurologically, making you more prone to having strong personality shifts. 

 

Dr S and Dr J have seemed very concerned about my rage issues. Dr S, who is my LLND, cannot prescribe certain medications to help my strong anger issues. But Dr J can.  I think this is one of the big reasons Dr S was so happy I got in with Dr J without much of a wait.

 

 I shared with you that Dr J put me on Abilify, and it pushed my rages over the edge, screaming, crying, breaking more things, making my family and Dave really concerned and wanting me to stop taking it ( I wanted to stop taking it because I couldn’t go #2… but yeah, the anger issues as well LOL). I told Dr J about my experience with Abilify, and I asked him about other solutions. Unfortunately, he said many of those types of drugs would likely have the same effect as the Abilify on  me, and recommended for me to up my Ativan intake and to see how that went. 

 

Dr J believes the reason for my extreme rage issues is the swelling of the temporal lobe of my brain, which is causing pressure on my amygdala, causing the Lyme Rage. So maybe, it is a swelling of the brain that is causing the rage.

 

Another instance that may come into play is if there is chemical imbalances going on in your brain. Levels of serotonin and cortisol are two examples that come directly into play with our moods and stress levels, which can cause an increase in rage and irritability. 

 

And lastly, the one we don’t want to hear but there may be a partial truth to it, is that it it plausible that we may or may not have been predisposition to rage and irritability issues, prior to contracting Lyme disease. The stress in all different aspects causing an increase of rage and irritability. Debilitation, financial burdens, relationship issues… causing these issues to spiral out of control. I don’t necessarily think that this is entirely the case, but it might be just one other thing. For me personally, I don’t know how stress can make me black out and not remember what I say. But maybe it is a part of the puzzle. 

 

A link that I found had a test about Lyme and rage issues. Check it out! http://www.nowhealing.com/lyme-rage-and-irritability/

 

So I am unsure. I don’t think anyone really knows for sure. But maybe this gives a little explanation. I think this leads into a two-parter, coming soon, the connection between Lyme and psychiatric problems. Daaa Daaaaa DAAAAAA (Insert dramatic music in here). 

 

Maybe we all just need one of these.  Therapy buddy – LOL  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVNZvZvzWak  Ok not really, this creeps me out beyond belief. 

 

Have a good and kind day everyone! Take a deep breath and don’t forget, everything is going to be alright 🙂

 

Any stories of Lyme rage you would like to share? Share em’! 

 

http://www.lymeneteurope.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4420&start=10, http://actionlyme.50megs.com/neuroborreliosis%20aggression.com, www2.lymenet.org,IDSA.com,http://www.wellsphere.com/lyme-disease-article/scientific-evidence-for-lyme-rage/624395,www.mentalheathandillness.com/Articles/AggressionAndLymeDisease.htm photo credit kevinonkars.wordpress.com

19 thoughts on “Lyme Rage

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your info. on Lyme rage. This has happened to me twice, and, as a matter of fact, just last night during the night. I opened my email and found this timely topic. I am relieved to know that it is something that is a part of this disease and I can find ways to help!

  2. Therapy buddy really is creepy!

    I think we are going to find out that most of these uncontrolled rages are from combinations of conditions, toxins, pathogens, etc. Lyme and bartonella are going to be only pieces of the puzzle.

  3. I am a red head with fair skin, but don’t have this Lyme rage. There is someone in my life with dark hair, dark skin, and he doesn’t have Lyme but def. has this rage your talking about. I’m suspicious, however, about medications and their potential side effects as many can alter the chemicals and their levels of our brains, possibly affecting the part that controls our emotions.

    • Everyone is different with Lyme. I am a brunette and have this rage. Some of the medications do make my Rage worse. I can’t take Abilify, which is suppose to help with the rage issues. Some of the antibiotics make my bran chemistry much worse, between Lyme rage and cognitive function. I agree, I think it has a lot to do with the chemical levels in our brains. 🙂

  4. I too suffer from lyme rage…my daughter laughs at me and the things that come out of my mouth when driving…but I can’t control it and I have no idea where it comes from! I don’t have many friends anymore, luckily the people closest to me are used to being around me and are not offended but rather find it comical. I am a red head and fair skinned and though I suppose I have always had a bit of a temper, I used to be able to control it and it used to take A LOT to set me off…whereas now I can just zap out anytime for no reason!

  5. Pingback: August Part 11 – The Ugly | kimmiecakeskickslyme

  6. This is a timely article as I was just chatting with a caretaker for another Lymie who’s daughter suffers with this. My rageful episodes are mostly in the past. However, I remember them clearly and can only imagine how scary they must be from our loved one’s perspective, particularly when that sort of behavior is so at odds with who we truly are and who they have known us to be up until that point. Thanks for sharing this article. I think it will help both those of us suffering from it and those who are caretaking for us.

    • It is frustrating. I tend to fixate on things and can’t let them go either, especially on certain abx. I hope you can feel better. I find distractions (funny movies, playing games on the computer, if you are up to it going to dinner) really helps.

  7. Pingback: June Part 2 – A Reminder | kimmiecakeskickslyme

  8. Lyme rage is harder on the supporter/family member than the sick person I believe. We have to take it and still try to love and support our member.

Leave a Reply

