Benefits of Combination Therapy

Image
I know I am not a Doctor, but I would like to share my beliefs on importance of combination therapy in order to kill the bastards. Agree, disagree, you are entitled to your opinion, but I will share what I know, and maybe it will help you if you are not seeing the improvements you want. Combination therapy is the use of more than one antibiotic to kill more than one form of the Lyme bacteria. Whether you choose to do antibiotics or a natural regimen, this article can definitely give you some useful information as to why you might want to consider it. 

 

You have multiple compartments in your body, fluid and tissue, and no single antibiotic alone can penetrate both of those compartments. Most doctors like to use an intracellular antibiotic and well as an extracellular antibiotic when going about a combination protocol. Intracellular would be the spirochetes and biofilm, and extracellular would be the cyst form.

 

This is essentially attacking the Lyme bacteria in all forms. Some examples that would address these are the use of tetracyclines, like doxycycline, that fights spirochetes and biofilm, paired with a nitroimidazole, a cyst buster, like my best friend Flagyl. Of course, there are many different options. Both doxy and flagyl are extremely rugged. That would suck big time, but just giving two examples. 

 

Co-infections. Everyone seems to have a belief if they should be addressed first, during, or after a Lyme protocol. I believe in a co-infection treatment during a Lyme protocol. Fortunately, you are essentially killing two birds with one stone because many of these co-infection treatments are addressed with a Lyme protocol, and vice versa. Another blog entry for another day? I wonder what I can dig up as there are so many beliefs as to what should be addressed and when. 

 

Right now, I am on a Lyme treatment in all forms, and a Babesia treatment. Some of my medications address Bartonella at the same time. Killing two birds. 

 

Another reason for the use of combination therapy is antibiotic resistance. I firmly believe this happened to me, as I was on rocephin and rocephin alone for a decent amount of time. Rocephin, first of all, only addresses Lyme in it’s spirochete form. It is great for those who have early stages of Lyme, but other treatment should be accompanied. 

 

I was on the drug for so long on it’s own, several months in fact ( you should rotate at least every 45 days, unless on a Babesia treatment), and although I felt better for maybe a week out of over 3 months, I just moved those little spirochetes into harder to kill forms, biofilm and cyst. Yay for me! But I didn’t know any better at the time. 

 

Of course, there are some risks involved in doing a combination therapy. The two main ones are that there can be a GI intolerance and yeast overgrowth. Knowing that these issues can arise, you can combat them and prevent them beforehand if they occur with you. Probiotics, glutamine, and anti nausea medications can help with the GI issues. Being armed with yeast medications and staying away from sugar and gluten can help with the yeast issues. You should be closely monitored as well with routine bloodwork.  Dr. Burrascano believes however, the benefits really do outweigh the risks in doing combination therapy. 

 

I know this is going off topic but kind of on topic (but I promise it will tie in) and it really bothered me. I read today that someone that was seeing a “Lyme Literate Doctor” gave her 6 months worth of antibiotics and pretty much said, “See you in 6 months!”.. WHAT? That is not a LLMD. That’s a one size fits all protocol, you should be seen on a more regular basis with help along the way, ESPECIALLY when trying new antibiotics and are a new patient, and there was no information given to her about what else can be done or what to really expect. Everyone is different, each treatment protocol should address the patients needs. It sounded like not a single supplement, probiotic, or anything was put on the table to help along the way. Oy. *Rant End* 

 

My rant leads onto something else I find to be a “combination therapy”, but not like the one that is consistent with combination therapy that you only hear about with antibiotics or herbals that all the online research will tell you. This is my spin to what I also believe is part of a combination therapy. Let’s call it KimmieCakesKicksLyme Combo Therapy to Success! Only kidding. Maybe 🙂 

 

Treating the body as a whole. This is my spin to what I also believe is part of a combination therapy.  I cannot believe how many people that I have seen and read about on forums that have not heard of  supplements, nutritional deficiencies, Lyme appropriate diet, and the importance to help protect the gut lining throughout the treatment process, So unbelievably surprised. It is a lifestyle change. 

 

We fight so hard to find doctors that are willing to treat us, but I think a lot of them don’t even think about how important it is to be checking magnesium levels, routinely doing bloodwork to see how your organs are doing as well as basic tests, checking for vitamin deficiencies, genetic deficiencies,  other viruses, heavy metal toxicity, among many other things. As well what was listed above.

 

And that could be a huge part of why you are not seeing improvements. Those of us that are the harder to treat and sicker patients are the ones that have these types of deficiencies. Our immune systems just plain aren’t working properly. An important piece of the puzzle.  Some I have mentioned in a blog post “Common Abnormalities Found in Lyme Disease”… or something along those lines. 

 

Combination therapy – an integrated approach of antibiotics, natural or pharmaceutical, to attack all of Lyme’s forms. Working on your own body to figure out what is exactly going on. Keep your immune system going. It will help you go in the right direction. 

 

Well, I hope this provided you all with some useful information. I am a strong believer in combination therapy for many reasons as you can see. 

 

Alert Alert! Discuss with your LLMD if you haven’t been on a combination therapy and think it would be best to try! Do not try to do a combination therapy without guidance from a doctor. 

 

It’s Friday, It’s Friday, Gotta Get Down on Friday 😉 Have a wonderful day everyone!

 

http://www.lymeneteurope.org,http://www.lymenet.org/BurrGuide200810.pdf,http://www.leaparizona.com/lymebasicskathymeyer.htm,jemsekspecialty.com, lymebook.com,http://cosmomomwithatwistoflyme.com,http://www.ilads.org,wikipedia.com,http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2009/08/04/Dr-Klinghardts-Treatment-of-Lyme-Disease.aspx,http://www.treatlyme.net/articles/2012/7/27/kills-lyme-germs-a-brief-antibiotic-guide.html Photo Credit: http://www.ucl.ac.uk

 

12 thoughts on “Benefits of Combination Therapy

  1. What happens if you can’t find a LLMD??? I’m stuggely bad trying to find one in Vermont. I don’t no where to turn next.

    • Mary, I recommend a website called mdjunction.com . Sign up. There is a forum that you can request LLMDs in your area. The leader will send you a private message with a list, estimate on pricing, and if there is any info about them and what they specialize in (example:pediatric Lyme). I hope you find someone good in your area! They are out there, but a lot don’t advertise it. Good luck 🙂

  2. My LLMD is one who gives 4-6 mo of antibiotic prescriptions. He does give detailed info on how to take each one and what to expect, gives you other options as to treatment. Doesn’t leave you “hanging”… His office is also available to call if needed. He is very good and knows what he is doing.

  3. Another well-written entry. I think it is best to attack all forms as well, along with co’s, and whatever else you can. And keeping your body as strong as you can, and keeping all the detox pathways clear. It all works together. These are definitely things to discuss with your medical practitioner.

  4. Pingback: Raw Milk Power: Girl Uses Raw Milk to Reverse Own Lyme Disease | Prepper Podcast Radio Network

    • Certainly can! It will probably take awhile I have like 3 things going and I am having a tough time. But give it a week and I can do it! 🙂 Any other ideas let me know and I will do the research! Thank you!

      • OH, I’m sorry you’re having a tough time!

        I have been reading your past week’s posts for the past hour. I was away, but I am catching up.

        I REALLY hope someday you write a book about Lyme and your personal story. I am so impressed by your experience and willingness to share!

      • Thank you so much! Maybe someday. I personally am an overachiever, so I don’t feel like I would go a self publishing route. I am too sick to do all the leg-work, and can’t fork out the cash. I am hoping one day I can get someone interested in my story.

        Hilarious story, out of a whim I decided to write a query letter to a publisher I thought was fitting and would have potential interest. 3 days later, I got an e-mail saying I really hope you feel better, but this book company publishes gay and transgendered stories. LMAO oops. Clearly hit the wrong button. But they were super nice about it and sent me well wishes 🙂

        So that’s about how far I got on that one!

        I’ll get over it. Things are tough now, but that means I know it is doing something! Kicking some Lyme and Babesia ass I hope! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. Pingback: Benefits of Combination Therapy | Slices Of Lyme Pie

Leave a Reply

