Gayle W, LMT Discusses Massage Therapy and Lyme Disease

Image
As I have mentioned in several of my blogs, I incorporate therapeutic massage into my Lyme and Co’s treatment. I first met Gayle when I began my treatment in September of 2012.  I found therapeutic massage to be a good way to detox and help ease my symptoms. Although my massage can be painful at times, there are days that I could barely walk inside and I walked back out when my session was finished with more use of my legs. The lymphatic work is a great tool for myself to use, especially having the MTHFR genetic mutation, which hinders your body’s ability to detox. Even without MTHFR, detoxing is a necessary part of any Lyme protocol.

 

Gayle owns and operates two locations in NH under the name, “The Bodywork Cafe”. She is rather unique in that she has had struggles with this terrible disease as well. I have found ourselves talking about our treatment and sharing our stories and I can truly call her a friend throughout this process in healing.  Here is what she had to say about Lyme disease and massage therapy –  

 

“Spa massage has a great impact on slowing the overall nervous system responses and creating a sense of calm. It is very beneficial. However, there is a limit to its customization to individual circumstances.

 

Therapeutic massage is necessary because Lyme disease requires a very customizable treatment plan that can accommodate large changes in the needs of the client. For example: Pressure tolerance, circulation, temperature, detox load, lymphatic response and pain level. Goals should be planned and reached with each treatment.

 

Clients that require therapeutic massage to make clear progress could be people with recurring injuries, chronic illness, limited movement, or pain. Children/young adults with back pain/headaches would benefit. Also, athletes with injury concerns.

 

Techniques that I use stem from triggering the muscles and nerves to communicate for efficiency with Neuromuscular Technique. And lengthening the muscle with Myofascial Release Technique. Lymphatic Drainage, stretching, hydrotherapy, aromatherapy, acupressure, reflexology, Craniosacral and infrared therapy are also used. A combination of these based on the clients feedback is very effective.”

 

Massage therapy is definitely a tool that is worth considering especially from a Lyme prospective. I couldn’t be happier with Gayle, her skills, and her knowledge. Maybe you should consider trying a therapeutic massage and see if it’s right for you! 🙂 

 

4 thoughts on “Gayle W, LMT Discusses Massage Therapy and Lyme Disease

  1. I didn’t realize all the benefits of massage for helping ease symptoms! Thanks for posting this!

    Is there an amount of time that it is beneficial to have the massage for? I know when I have had the hour long ones, my shoulders swell and hurt after.

Leave a Reply

