January Part 2 – The End of Meropenum and Cipro IVs

 It was the last day of my week’s intense IV protocol. I was so happy it was finally coming to an end. There was a doozy of a snowstorm, but I was lucky and had Dave clean off my car, and snowblow the driveway to get out. 

 

I did my morning IVs, and felt a little bit lightheaded, and my eyes hurt. My bones ached because of the snow, but I was feeling quite a bit less foggy and more coherent. That is always a bonus. 

 

I went and saw H. at the hospital, as she was very concerned about my dressing. She put on a special tegaderm, and changed my biopatch again, as it was beginning to show signs of drainage. I wasn’t all that surprised after all the issues I have had in the past several days. 

Image 

 I can’t remember what it is called, but it looks like a pad or diaper. LOL It has stuff on the bandaging that is suppose to help heal my skin. I can’t see underneath it, but it seems to be helping. It has held up pretty well, and my skin doesn’t hurt and is much less itchy. I will talk to Dr. J or one of the nurses when I return to DC to see what they can do.  

 

After my dressing change, I got a cup of coffee and headed straight home. I didn’t have to work because of the storm, so I did some writing and a bit of cleaning. I was actually feeling a little better than I had in the past few weeks, so I wanted to make the most of it. I didn’t want to overdo it, so once I spent a little time getting some things done around the house, I laid down and relaxed. 

 

What I hadn’t done in long while was cook a full dinner. I was happy to be able to. Chicken, green beans, and I even tried to tackle making homemade gluten-free biscuits! They tasted alright, a little crumbly, but they were at least palatable! A lot of the gluten-free products and types of flour end up tasting like cardboard to me. *Gag*

 

Later on in the night, Dave got sick. Sitting in the bathroom, throwing up. Uh ohhh! Shit, maybe it was my cooking! Damnit, I gave him a kiss goodnight! Maybe he has a stomach bug. I don’t want a stomach bug! Luckily, he didn’t get up for the rest of the night, and said he felt a lot better by morning. Phew. Oh wait, that means it was my cooking! I guess I can’t win them all. Probably why no one ever wants to come to dinner at my house. 🙂

 

I was glad that I wrapped up my last day of IVs much better and finished strong. When I reached my very last drip, I swear I could hear the angels singing Hallelujah. What a long, miserable few weeks. Then begins my three day break, and the only thing I now face is my Coartem challenge.

 

When things can be extremely tough, it means that things are working.  I have been through a hell month, and I think I will finish this last round even stronger, and hopefully see signs of improvement.

Leave a Reply

