January Part 11 – The Past and Present

 I was told not to come into work on Saturday, since it was absolutely pouring out, and the driveway was an ice skating rink. Fabulous. I slept until one in the afternoon anyway. LOL 

 

I felt like I could use some more sleep, even though I got up in the afternoon, but that was the cut-off point of me absolutely hating myself and feeling like a piece of shit. This isn’t me! What happened to that girl that use to get up at 5:30 every morning to be at the gym when they opened at 6, work out for an hour, get ready, go to College,  work for the College during my break in between classes, come home, then go to my waitressing job?! That was several years ago, but oh how the tides have turned. 

 

Once I got up, I went to the bathroom, and was grossed out at myself looking in the mirror. My face was completely broken out like a teenager going through puberty. I must have rubbed Crisco on my face before I went to sleep. Ugh. This happens to me every single time I am done my antibiotics for the month. Insult to injury in my world of Lyme. 

 

I felt bad that I couldn’t go into work, although it was of no fault of my own, since I knew there was a lot that needed to be done. Since I got another work computer, we have to set up a new Quickbooks program. We, meaning my Mom. I wanted to help out at least a little bit. It really sucks because this type of thing use to be something that I was really good at. 

 

But that is not where I am at right now.  I owe her a big one since it is just out of the question for me to be able to try to set up a new program, on top of my daily workload. I am even having a hard time getting the file cabinets and desk sorted out since it is the new year. By the time I am done my basic work, my mind is fried. I just want to go home. 

 

Dave and the “make a wish” couple took me to see American Hustler at a movie theater a few towns away. Geeshhh they definitely hustled us, because that movie absolutely sucked! (Sorry to those of you that might have liked it. *cough*youjustmighthavehorribletaste* Who said that? Either way, it was really good to get out. 

 

The ride home was not a great one. I had a free-for-all at the theater, since it is restaurant style, and I got an appetizer plate. Yes, the kind that is meant for several people. Don’t judge. Of course, there was leftovers to take home, but my two mozzarella sticks and 2 chicken fingers did me in. My throat was completely closing up. Not to mention I was so full and bloated I probably could have been mistaken for a pregnant woman having twins.  

 

Yup. The verdict is in. Gluten still bothers me. A lot. Not to mention that food I had for dinner has absolutely no zero nutritional value. Unless tortilla chips and a giant bowl of cheese or bacon cheddar potato skins are now considered vegetables. 

 

I now wonder if I will be able to ever eat gluten again, or if I will have to have these healthy dietary changes for life. Not that I am complaining, since I know I am eating a lot better now, and my body obviously rejects a lot of food that isn’t good for me, but does one after remission ever get to eat the homemade mac and cheese Mom makes that is so good? I guess I will find out in time, since my Mom does make the best mac and cheese in the entire world (don’t disagree with me because you are dead wrong) and I miss some of those things. 

 

As soon as I got home, I did a lactated ringer to try to get rid of some of those toxins and watched TV. I knew it was going to be a busy day for me the following morning since I missed a day of work due to the driveway issues.  Did I get to bed early though? Of course not! At least I knew I would get up in the morning, since Drill Sargent Dave would give me a wake up call. 🙂

2 thoughts on “January Part 11 – The Past and Present

    • I feel better with the good food. Just missing some things. I always eat a lot of Chinese food when I am doing IVs, but I make sure it is gluten free. I know it’s not healthy, but anything to help with nausea! Plus its delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

