January Part 22 – IV Week Complete

 I finally had a day that I woke up feeling like I had gotten a little sleep (yay!). I woke up at a more reasonable time, but still decided no bath (hey, let’s not push things) , but put on a cute outfit and took time to put on some makeup. 

 

I went to work, and did everything I had to, with sunglasses on. My eyes have been really sensitive to my works lights lately, more so than my usual light sensitivities. After awhile being at work, I began to be in a ton of pain and was ready to call it a day. My arms and legs were excruciating and it hurt to even type away on the computer because my fingertips were so sore. Insult to injury, my Babesia decided to kick in, as my body decided to start pouring sweat. 

 

On my way home, I went and visited S. at the salon and chit chatted. Although I have had much better days than my mini meltdown on Saturday, I will admit I still have been down in the dumps lately, so it was good to see my friend. 

 

The rest of the day was couch time. Dave picked up dinner in town, which seems to be a common occurrence lately, and I watched movies, preparing for my nighttime IVs. 

 

Sitting next to me during dinner, Dave asked me in all seriousness, “Did your Grandma knit you that sweater you’re wearing?” “Ummm.. no?” “Then why would you wear that? It’s ugly! Like ugly sweater party ugly!” LOL

He should remember that he is a woodbooger that hasn’t shaved in months, wears the same ripped, oil and dirt covered work clothes all week, even in public, so people probably think he is a Hobo. Grrr!!!! And that is what set the tone for the rest of the evening. 

 

I was a grouch to him for the rest of the night, because I thought the sweater was ADORABLE. Isn’t it ADORABLE? 

Image 

Then, I got really mad because he took all the cans of ginger ale with him to work. I have been so nauseas doing my IVs, and have been trying to keep my stomach calm with a ginger ale at night after my infusions. 

 

I decided on a glass of almond milk instead, then a glass of chamomile tea. I had wished for peppermint to ease my stomach, but the sweater hating ginger ale stealer forgot to pick up some more for me. Pshh… 

 

When he went to bed, I was done being grumpy with him, because I know at the end of the day, he is still pretty good to me. Okay, really good to me. 🙂 But don’t call my sweater ugly or forget my ginger ale. Ever. 

 

I went to bed pretty excited. You wanna know why? Only one more day of IVs!!!

 

Thursday I slept in as long as I could. I had to do my Meropenum and Cipro IVs, and I figured since it was blood work and dressing change day, it would be nice of me to take a bath. I ended up just having enough time to grab a coffee at the store and head to the hospital. 

 

I was a little nervous getting my blood work done this week, since it was off last week and I didn’t even have my IV week yet and the fact that I now have edema in my legs and feet. My vitals were taken and my heart beat was normal, still running a fever though. 

 

To my surprise, my levels were better. A little on the border but much better. The only thing that had me a bit worried was my glucose levels. I didn’t have anything to eat, and barely had two sips of coffee before I had to go to the hospital, and my levels were still high. Hmmm. 

 

After my dressing change and blood work, I went and visited S. again at the salon. She washed my hair for me, which was much needed as I am having a really hard time doing it myself again, and gave it a trim. It is always a nice feeling having something so simple as clean hair. 

 

When I got home, everything hit me like a ton of bricks. I knew I overdid it for the day, even though it seemed like nothing at all. I wasn’t all that hungry for dinner, so I had a tiny bit of oatmeal and a banana since my potassium levels have been low. Two Marinols and a half hour later, I was ready to tackle the last of my IVs. What a long week it has been. Two weeks I should say. I still don’t know what I should tell Dr J. Was this time worse than the last? My blood work says it was, my body completely worn physically and mentally says it was. But sometimes it is hard for me to remember. It can be a blur at times and I tend to mesh things together. It will definitely take some reflecting, but I guess I will do that as soon as I finish my very last part of the protocol, Coartem. 

 

After my IVs, I was so nauseous. Dave remembered my ginger ale after the wrath of Kimmiecakes from the day before, but was still really sick. What do I do when I am nauseas? I stuff my face. Two eggs and a can of corn beef hash later, I thought to myself, nope, definitely not helping. At all. 

 

I don’t know if it was the giant amount of food (people who really know me know that I could probably win an eating competition), or the eggs, which revert my mind to when I had my first gallbladder attack last year, or the Tigecycline saying “I REALLY HATE YOU” on my very last day of IVs this protocol. 

 

The rest of the night I was a hot mess. Gag. Gag. Barf. And then I woke up the husband. “Are you okay in there?” “Yeah, I’m fine! Leave me alone!” Gag. Barf. Barf. He of course didn’t leave me alone. I laid down on the floor for a break, knowing I was going to get sick again. Yup! It’s not over yet! Barrfff. And then… the toot. LOL. Hey, I am real here. People toot. Fart. Whatever. 

 

Dave started laughing hysterically at me, puke in hair and somehow on my hands (maybe trying to NOT get puke in my hair, and laying on the toilet, making me laugh even harder while I was still in the middle of throwing up. I am sure I was a site for sore eyes. Finally, I was sure I had let it out.. from both ends, and went to lay on the couch. 

 

My stomach hurt. My throat hurt. My legs were still bothering m’RE UGLYHe should remember that he is a woodbooger that hasn’t shaved in months, wears the same ripped, oil and dirt covered clothes all week, even in public, so people probably think he is a Hobo. Grrr!!!! And that is what set the tone for the rest of the evening. 

 

I was a grouch to him for the rest of the night, because I thought the sweater was ADORABLE. Isn’t it ADORABLE? 

Image 

Then, I got really mad because he took all the cans of ginger ale with him to work. I have been so nauseas doing my IVs, and have been trying to keep my stomach calm with a ginger ale at night after my infusions. 

 

I decided on a glass of almond milk instead, then a glass of chamomile tea. I had wished for peppermint to ease my stomach, but the sweater hating ginger ale stealer forgot to pick up some more for me. Pshh… 

 

When he went to bed, I was done being grumpy with him, because I know at the end of the day, he is still pretty good to me. Okay, really good to me. 🙂 But don’t call my sweater ugly or forget my ginger ale. Ever. 

 

I went to bed pretty excited. You wanna know why? Only one more day of IVs!!!

 

Thursday I slept in as long as I could. I had to do my Meropenum and Cipro IVs, and I figured since it was blood work and dressing change day, it would be nice of me to take a bath. I ended up just having enough time to grab a coffee at the store and head to the hospital. 

 

I was a little nervous getting my blood work done this week, since it was off last week and I didn’t even have my IV week yet and the fact that I now have edema in my legs and feet. My vitals were taken and my heart beat was normal, still running a fever though. 

 

To my surprise, my levels were better. A little on the border but much better. The only thing that had me a bit worried was my glucose levels. I didn’t have anything to eat, and barely had two sips of coffee before I had to go to the hospital, and my levels were still high. Hmmm. 

 

After my dressing change and blood work, I went and visited S. again at the salon. She washed my hair for me, which was much needed as I am having a really hard time doing it myself again, and gave it a trim. It is always a nice feeling having something so simple as clean hair. 

 

When I got home, everything hit me like a ton of bricks. I knew I overdid it for the day, even though it seemed like nothing at all. I wasn’t all that hungry for dinner, so I had a tiny bit of oatmeal and a banana since my potassium levels have been low. Two Marinols and a half hour later, I was ready to tackle the last of my IVs. What a long week it has been. Two weeks I should say. I still don’t know what I should tell Dr J. Was this time worse than the last? My blood work says it was, my body completely worn physically and mentally says it was. But sometimes it is hard for me to remember. It can be a blur at times and I tend to mesh things together. It will definitely take some reflecting, but I guess I will do that as soon as I finish my very last part of the protocol, Coartem. 

 

After my IVs, I was so nauseous. Dave remembered my ginger ale after the wrath of Kimmiecakes from the day before, but was still really sick. What do I do when I am nauseas? I stuff my face. Two eggs and a can of corn beef hash later, I thought to myself, nope, definitely not helping. At all. 

 

I don’t know if it was the giant amount of food (people who really know me know that I could probably win an eating competition), or the eggs, which revert my mind to when I had my first gallbladder attack last year, or the Tigecycline saying “I REALLY HATE YOU” on my very last day of IVs this protocol. 

 

The rest of the night I was a hot mess. Gag. Gag. Barf. And then I woke up the husband. “Are you okay in there?” “Yeah, I’m fine! Leave me alone!” Gag. Barf. Barf. He of course didn’t leave me alone. I laid down on the floor for a break, knowing I was going to get sick again. Yup! It’s not over yet! Barrfff. And then… the toot. LOL. Hey, I am real here. People toot. Fart. Whatever. 

 

Dave started laughing hysterically at me, puke in hair and somehow on my hands (maybe trying to NOT get puke in my hair, and laying on the toilet, making me laugh even harder while I was still in the middle of throwing up. I am sure I was a site for sore eyes. Finally, I was sure I had let it out.. from both ends, and went to lay on the couch. 

 

My stomach hurt. My throat hurt. My legs were still bothering me, so I kept them elevated. It seems to be the only thing to get an ounce of relief. I stayed up as I knew there was no way I could fall asleep, and then got up to go to bed, with rubber legs, making it nearly impossible to get to the bedroom, but holding onto the wall seemed to help. I got to bed, and shortly after, I finally fell asleep. IV week complete. 

 

2 thoughts on “January Part 22 – IV Week Complete

Leave a Reply

