March Part 11 – The Countdown

Image
I woke up to snow, and lots of it! The first day of spring? Really?! I can’t wait to get in my flippy floppies and wear my spring clothes. Time seems to be flying, so I am sure that time really will be right around the corner. Until then, the heat is on and I am bundled up like I am in the arctic, unless I am having a hot flash or feel like I am going to pass out.

Thursdays are my weekly dressing change day, and I had been looking forward to it since the weekend since I had the wrong tegaderm on as my order didn’t come in on time, and was starting to get itchy and peel up.ย I already had an experience waking up to no dressing covering my line and freaking out, so I really didn’t want a repeat of that, as well as I feel a little ridiculous having medical tape patching it up everywhere.

My line was perfect this week, the blood draw wasn’t sluggish so that is good to not have to worry about it for another week. I instantly felt better once H. put on my new dressing. No more itching, and if you can be stylish having a line in, I felt like I was much more without my little work of art going on with my medical tape trying to hold my dressing in place.

At the hospital I paid off my gallbladder surgery, well, the third of it that insurance didn’t cover. Having the surgery over a year ago, it was a good feeling to have that monthly payment behind me, even though I still have payments upon payments rolling in for my weekly hospital visits. The joys of Lyme. And the joys of insurance covering bits and pieces, or nothing at all.

I went to work for a little bit after I was done my dressing change to enter in deposits and to raid my parents fridge. Well, at least I am honest. I was beyond tempted and taunted by the picture at Dunkin Donuts of the new eggs benedict breakfast sandwich, but I was well behaved and had a little self control. So I was hungry. LOL I figured my throat felt much better than Wednesday night so I wouldn’t push it.

On the way home I got a good laugh. I did in fact stop by Dunkin Donuts, but to get a coffee. Still, self control. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had already picked up a salad for dinner later since Dave goes out for wings on Thursdays.ย  It has been months since I have been there, partially because of my treatments and being sick, and partially because I knew someone who I thought supported me throughout all of this only to find him flapping his gums about me, even things that are completely ridiculous like “I bring on my seizures” was going to be there. Not a friend at all. When the story of Kimmiecakes hits LMN, he will be the antagonist of the story, alongside with the CDC and IDSA. LOL

Anyways, my laugh. I was getting there.. on the road next to Dunks, which is in terrible shape so you basically have to go two or you will bottom out or possibly lose a tire, little high school boys were walking. Mid hot flash with the windows rolled down, I hear “hey sexxyyyy” coming from one of the boys, as well as some hooting’ and hollering. Hootin’ and hollering? Damnit I feel old. But it cracked me up and I definitely caught myself blushing. Boys will be boys. And I still got it. ๐Ÿ™‚

The second I got home, I was glued to the TV. I had about a million house things I wanted to get done, but literally laid there for hours. My neck and back pain after the hospital and work was excruciating. Eff you Minocycline for not doing your job. Oh well, there’s always tomorrow, right?

Friday started to give me anxiety. DC is creeping up really fast! It didn’t help that there was a crisis at work, luckily not involving me, but it stressed me out even more being there. Things that don’t even involve me still seem to freak me out inside. I set my thoughts aside and tried to kick butt, and felt like I did a lot and I wouldn’t be as scattered getting everything together on Saturday.

I drove off and realized I forgot my paperwork to fill out for Dr J’s office. God damnit! I forgot my cell phone and had to turn around the day before, so this time I wasn’t stopping! I had to get to the bank and pharmacy to pick up a refill on one of my seizure meds so I would have enough for when I get back, so any extra energy of driving back and walking to and from the office to grab it didn’t seem worth it. I always procrastinate on this little bit of preparing. I don’t know why, I think it is the listing of everything, supplements and antibiotics as well as their dosages that I hate. Maybe I will write “SAME” and see if that flies? Nah, I don’t have the balls to, plus I really don’t feel like doing through everything once again at the doctors office in full detail.

I was sore and exhausted from getting this all done, but I kept pushing on to get the house cleaned up and pack. I didn’t end up getting as far as I liked, since my feet decided to stop working and I couldn’t feel them anymore, so that was about all I could take for the day. I made Dave pick up takeout for dinner so there was less stress trying to get a meal together with empty cupboards.

I laid down and did a lactated ringer, and that was pretty much the rest of my night. I began to really not feel well at all, sore and joint pain, pounding headache, neurologic issues causing pain in my ribs, and my lymph nodes and throat were acting up again. Ugh.

I am still awake at 1:30, waiting to be able to get to sleep. I was really thinking I would be able to get to bed earlier since I am pooped, but I guess it just isn’t happening. I am just about DC bound! Traveling and stuffing my face along the way. Seafood, mexican, thai, and New Orleans foods will all be on the agenda. I think my 6 pound gain from last month just might turn into a 20 pound gain. Just kidding. Maybe. I am looking forward to a few days away from home with Dave, regardless as to how the appointment goes. I am feeling okay about it this time, but I won’t give my hopes up about my line. I do know that slowly and surely I am getting better, so that is a good sign. ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “March Part 11 – The Countdown

Leave a Reply

