April Part 12 – It’s Never Really a Break

Image

It is never really a break when I have a break off my antibiotics until I go back to DC. There is a lot to be done, lots of extremely necessary detox, as Dr J. has already called me “toxic” (gee thanks haha), closely monitoring how I am doing, as it is a big judgement on how my treatment is going more so OFF treatment than on treatment, driving myself crazy because the monitoring goes poorly, and now physical therapy is added to the mix of all my appointments. 

 

I for once got an awesome nights rest on Thursday. There is just something about all freshly washed bedding that just feels good and it is really easy to fall right asleep. It was my juicing day, and the first day off of my antibiotics. 

 

I was glad my dog didn’t run away that morning. LOL. Bad Chancey. Dave is in the process of building a fence so he will be able to run around the yard and we won’t have to worry. My big dog is terrified of the baby gate we put up in his room that he could easily just step over, so I don’t think sneaking away will be an issue. 

 

My B12 shots arrived first thing in the morning. I never know what I am going to get with my compounding pharmacy. I have gotten vials with needles and prefiled syringes that I have to transfer into another with a needle and syringe which is a friggin pain in the ass. This time it was prefiled and you can attach a needle. Yay. Easy enough.

 

I did my injection in the stomach and grabbed a juice. My salad with no dressing in a bottle. Delicious. Just kidding. I will say though, after the first one it isn’t so bad. 

 

It was my day off from work but if you know me, I went in to get some work done. There is always something to do. I needed some help reconciling all our checks and deposits on Quickbooks and had my Mom helped me out. It is really nice to have her support in all of this. To be honest I wasn’t sure if it was going to go that way, not because she doesn’t care, but because she already has a lot on her plate. But I am really lucky and grateful to have help. 

 

After work I had my weekly dressing change at the hospital. I decided to park far away in the last parking lot, so I got a good walk to and from as well as getting around in the hospital. It reminded me of last year, when some days I would be wheeled in and sometimes out to my car even though I would throw a fit because I hated getting any help. Although I did have a poor month, I need to reflect back on how much things have changed in the last year. Things are changing for the better. 🙂 

 

I took it easy for the rest of the night, especially considering the fact that my poop juice was finally kicking in. The juices really make you detox. LOL So being close to a toilet is pretty necessary, at least for me anyway.

 

I got up and to work much earlier than normal on Friday morning. I didn’t get a lot of sleep, but I seemed to do alright getting ready in the morning. It is usually a project getting ready in the morning, taking breaks having to sit or lay down, but everything was fine. I will take it! 

 

I immediately started to feel terrible as soon as I left work. I began to get really weak, loopy and lightheaded. I had to drop off the mail and go to the bank for work, and after those tasks, I was really not looking forward to physical therapy. I parked as close as I could and the front door to get in was locked. Seriously? What the fuck. I went in the side door, and had to walk up a bunch of stairs to get there. I was out of breath, so I figured that would be sufficient for physical therapy so I could just skip it and go home. 

 

There was a few minutes I could sit and wait in the waiting room so I regained a little bit of “oomph” and then was ready to start my session. 

 

We focused a lot on leg and balance exercises. I had to balance on a bosu ball, which must have been hilarious to watch. I felt like my legs were like a baby deer, as they were shaking and really wobbly. K. kind of held me there to support me so I didn’t fall on my face, but he was pretty confident that I will do better next time I do it. I continued to work on a few leg exercises and even did a little work on the bike. 

 

We only did a few core exercises for the day. Some of them were pretty hard, but I seemed to manage doing as much as I could. 

 

I am pretty happy things seemed to go well. I am really happy that I am getting a lot stronger but I know I still have work to do. I am beginning to think a lot of my issues are neurological. I know this will help me a lot along the way and very much needs to be done so I will tough it out. 

 

As soon as I got home I hooked myself up to a lactated ringer. About 3/4 of the way through the bag it hit me suddenly…Oh my godI gave to go to the bathroom. Like now. I guess my juicing was still working its magic. I am deathly afraid of wheeling myself around and didn’t want to unplug as I didn’t have any caps for the end of the line, so I had to hold it. Of course the bag seems to go twice as slow when you want it to finish. Needless to say I was pretty excited when that bag was all finished. Haha. 

 

I ate really light for dinner, just a salad, as I have to eat light after a day of juicing. I have been bad the day after, eating Chinese food, and my stomach absolutely hated me. So I guess when they give you directions you really are suppose to follow them. 

 

The rest of the night, I was really weak and exhausted. The exercise for the day really wore me out, physically and neurologically. My feet were really numb, I kept them elevated just in case it was a circulation issue, I was stuttery, and absolutely freezing. I was running a slight fever, so I think the herxing was beginning. I ended up curled up on the couch, watching Twilight, and fell right asleep.

Leave a Reply

