May Part 8 – The Hot Tub

Image

I was up pretty early considering it was my day off before I would start Coartem, the last leg of treatment for this month. I have a history now of doing pretty poorly on my breaks. A damned if you do, damned if you don’t sort of thing. 

 

I was pretty spacey at work, looking to my coworker for help with some things because I was just not with it. I had an appointment to see my best friend, S., to go get my hair done. I wasn’t very talkative, but it was good to see her none the less. She has been on vacation and very busy, so I haven’t gotten to see her as often as I usually do. Of course, even though I looked like a zombie, I had absolutely fabulous hair. 🙂 

 

Although I wanted to go straight home, I decided to swing by the hospital and see if my bloodwork was ready. And it was! I for some reason thought there was a bunch of send out tests, but they weren’t, so I could have picked them up days before. Oh well. 

 

There was a few things that were borderline, but really all and all came out normal, with the exception of my DHEA levels. They were high. Needless to say, even though I took a low dose for a day since that is when I could finally get my hands on the supplement, I knew I should stop taking it. It had me worried because I don’t really know if there is a correlation between the high levels of DHEA and the thickness of my endometrial lining that said the scary words, “Clinical correlation recommended”. Hmm. Of course, my gynecologist wasn’t in until the following day, so I would have to sit back and wait.

 

My other best fried, A., stopped by soon after I got home. At least even though I was feeling like I got hit by a bus, it motivated me to at least clean up the bathroom. She vented to me about some things she has been dealing with, and apologizing to me about it, but to tell you the truth, I don’t mind hearing other people’s stories at all. It is a good reminder that everyone has their own battles, and by nature I love helping people in any way I can and offer any advice I can give. 

 

I think I was fried for the day, even though she didn’t stay very long. I was ticking again at night, and I decided it was best to do a lactated ringer for the night, to try to get rid of some toxins as I know that is what is bothering me. A classic herx reaction.

 

Nightime was interesting to say the least. I promised to share the good, the bad and the ugly. It took me FOREVER to fall asleep, even with an Ativan and two Klonopins right before I went to sleep. When I finally went to sleep, I dreamt. I dreamt of my line being out, and Dave and I in our fall mini vacation spot in Lincoln, New Hampshire. It really is beautiful up there if you have never been. We were in our deluxe hotel room, with a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. I was stepping into the hot tub, and could feel the warmth on my feet and my legs. 

 

…But then I woke up. That warmth I felt certainly wasn’t from a wonderful romantic getaway, I was peeing myself in my sleep. Seriously?! Luckily, I didn’t get thru my pajamas, and was able to rush into the bathroom and finish my business. Ugh. Other than having accidents during my seizures, this is was a first for me, since I was probably about two years old. All I can do is laugh about it now. I have heard this isn’t completely abnormal for those with Lyme disease. Hopefully this is a one time thing, and if not, I might have to invest in some of these…

Image

 

The next morning was the start of my three days of Coartem. After my Babesia spots on my neck, I wasn’t really sure how it was going to pan out, but I stayed optimistic. I procrastinated as much as possible but knew it was time to eat some breakfast and take my pills. Usually about an hour later, a bomb hits me and I turn into a vegetable. I was kind of scared, since I had a busy day ahead of me. I had to swing into work to see if there was anything to deposit, I had my dressing change, and then I had to go see Dr. S for my dressing change. 

 

I handled it better than I thought I would. I felt fluish and sore, but nothing compared to my first few rounds of Coartem. When I went to my dressing change and they checked out my blood pressure and temperature, I was at 99.9, so that would explain the fluish yucky feeling. A fever isn’t always a bad thing, so I know the meds were working, but they weren’t completely debilitating me either. 

 

I went off to see Dr S, and that was the last event of the day. I feel a lot better now after having my adjustment, I highly recommend it to anyone, Lymie or not, as there are many benefits of chiropractic care. I of course asked him his thoughts on my bloodwork and the DHEA levels, and he seemed to believe it was hormone related, said I likely have PCOS, and suggested maybe getting a biopsy. Hmm. I also discussed with him about taking the Alcat test, and I made an appointment in the next few weeks. I am really interested to see what my results are on that one. I am ruling out anything that is keeping me from getting well.

 

Not too long after I got back home, my gynecologist called me with her thoughts on my results. She fully admitted she doesn’t know anything about Lyme (she isn’t one of those people who doubts chronic Lyme exists, however), and said she didn’t have a lot of time to talk about it, but she told me I probably shouldn’t worry about it. Two conflicting ideas, but to be fair I didn’t get the chance to talk about it in full detail. 

 

My next step when I don’t have Lyme brain is to fax the results to Dr J, as the ultrasound didn’t have his name on the results, and my hospital is notorious for forgetting to fax his office my bloodwork. 

 

Not too sure where to go from here. All I know is that I have pain and it isn’t going away. It has only gotten worse. I am open to suggestions, so I am hoping that I can either talk to Dr S or Dr J about everything in full detail, as I am positive this is all Lyme related. 

 

I felt bad at night, as I went into a full Lyme rage on Dave, almost in tears. Okay.. this sounds sad, but it was over Grey’s Anatomy. A) It was the season finally. B) It was Christina’s last episode. C) It is my favorite show of all time. D) He just wouldn’t shut up. “Shut your fucking mouth, get out of here and go to bed! You are such a dick!”.. and of course he fueled the fire, “Are you gonna cry, Christina’s leaving!” Then rubbing his eyes two inches from my face like he was crying, going “waaa waaa waaa”. I think he got the hint when he saw my eyes and the look I had that I was ready to punch him in the face. That was 100% his fault. He knows Grey’s is silent time. LOL

 

Of course that brought out my tics for the rest of the night. Even as I laid in bed. But hey, at least I stayed dry for the night! 😉

7 thoughts on “May Part 8 – The Hot Tub

  1. I cried, actually bawled like a baby… Jeff was making fun of me but they don’t get it 🙂 hope you have a good weekend!

    • No they don’t get it! lol. Today is my last day of antibiotics until June! Hopefully it will be easy. So far so good! I gave up after a shower though. I am a frizz ball. Too tired hahaha

  2. I’m looking at some of your old posts, and had to comment on this one. I feel the same way with Grey’s! I tell my husband that I have to watch it with no comments from him. The last time we tried to watch it together, he started asking me a question, and I paused and said that I’ve had a bad day and really need to watch the show without having to answer any questions. “So, your telling me that I have to leave the room? How nice!” 😉

Leave a Reply

