June Part 4 – Cooper

Unknown

I was bad. Real bad. But I am a promise keeper. I made a promise to Dave that once I got my IV line out, we would be in the market to get Chance a friend. We have been wanting to for well over a year, but I have been too sick and after getting my line out it was going to be a present for all of us. Dave surprised me with a text in the morning to let me know there was money saved up in his bureau and to go pick out a puppy! Well okay.. if you must force me to..

 

Driving to the local humane society was the longest amount of driving I have done since I was diagnosed, and I had to make the trip… twice. Once to look, and once I was approved. I was beyond tired. As soon as I got home with puppy in hand (we decided to name him Cooper), I took an Ativan and Gabapentin and told Dave to come straight home and skip going out with the boys for wing night, because I honestly didn’t know if I was going to have a seizure episode or just plain pass out for the evening.

 

I forgot how much work they are, but boy is he adorable. Honestly I am really scared, especially knowing that going onto orals as it is no cakewalk whatsoever, but Dave just fenced in the backyard and I know somehow we will make it work. We always do. Dave steps in quite a bit when needed and it seems that no matter how bad I get, I can dissociate myself from how I feel inside, and am able to get things done. Throughout all of this I have been working, which baffled Dr J, so what is one more thing, one that will love me unconditionally?

 

Seriously.. who could resist this little face?!

10300626_854779241217710_5857049650654458870_n

Well.. even though our house was full of “first night puppy cries” when we put him in his crate, I slept like a rock. I took the puppy and Chance out, and got ready for the morning. I felt pretty good, at least for the first few hours of the day. By the afternoon I was running a fever of 99.99, which isn’t terrible but I always seem to feel it. Sore, loopy, shaky.

photo-7photo-1

Then I noticed something on my arm. My bloodwork for the Alcat test was the day before, and my bruise was pretty good and I had developed what appeared to be a hematoma. The thing that really had me worried was the line down my arm and my arm being slightly swollen. Hmmm. I emailed Dr S pictures, and he thinks that it is blood spreading out. He said not to worry unless the area is red hot and painful. Either way, I will keep an eye on it, I would rather just be safe than sorry!

 

Right now Dave’s working on his truck and the doggies are outdoors. That is the beauty of a fenced in yard! It gave me a chance to do a quick vacuum and pick up the house a little bit… still working on getting rid of my IV stuff in my living room and my third clean hamper is now the kitchen table. LOL A little at a time! Ready for a nap.

 

This weekend I am going to enjoy it as much as possible, spending time outdoors, and maybe grab dinner and a drink and prepare myself for war again on Monday. I am hoping the weekend will last forever! Just kidding. Treatment sucks but I need it to get another step ahead as I am starting to function a lot more now. Maybe after this round I can take the new family member for a walk in town by myself! Fingers crossed. 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “June Part 4 – Cooper

Leave a Reply

