May Part 1 -One Long Vacation..

Wow! It has been a month since my last update. Hmm. To be fair, I been trying to keep up with work, and by afternoon I am done for the day and have been sleeping or have been a big ol’ couch potato.

I have officially been off of all antibiotics for 8 weeks now. Yup, as my title says, it has been one long vacation for sure.

I have been working hard on getting rid of my gut and intestinal infection. It has been especially difficult keeping up with a proper diet (I am on the FODMAPS diet) having so many food intolerances and also trying to go the vegan route.

For several weeks I found myself absolutely STARVING. Some of this is the bugs screaming, “feed me, feed me!!”, but another big part of it is not getting enough protein no longer eating meats or eggs.

It was pretty gross. Stir fries with veggies have been a staple lately. I would have about 3 bowls, then make a heaping plate of vegan nachos… and embarrassingly enough eat a jar of peanut butter as soon as Dave went to bed. I didn’t need any judgment. Haha.

Oddly enough, I have been losing a lot of inches. My size 11 pants are now down to a 7. At least my pants that were in totes in my closet are now back in use.

There have been some better days and some not so good days. Yesterday I was able to work for a couple hours, then I made a long drive.. okay well, 15 minutes is far for me to go to my bridesmaid dress fitting.

I went to the gas station and pumped my own gas, and stood at the town hall in line to get my car registered. Then, I went to the store to pick up a few things and cooked dinner. Wow! That was a very good day for me.

There has also been several days I tried to tackling too much. On my one Sunday off this month, I went to the grocery store in the morning, but ending up shaking uncontrollably for hours until I finally fell asleep.

For the next several days I paid for trying to do something “normal”. I always tend to end up with numb legs and feet, begin to be stutter and be my classic Tourrettesy self. Blah.
unnamed

This is what overdoing it (basic tasks of someone who is not chronically ill looks like). I don’t think I will make the cut for America’s Next Top Model. Haha. Oh well. A face only a mother could love.

Unfortunately I have been having a hard time with endometriosis pain again. It has lessened quite a bit, but I have had mornings that I have been in so much pain that I could not stop dry heaving and began to black out.

No aspirin or ibuprofen touches this pain. I don’t have any sort of pain management doctor nor do I have any stronger medications so I just have to deal with it at the moment.

There has been a few negative events this month. I occasionally have to wear sunglasses inside, and it was one of those days at the post office, and a man felt the need to approach me, (he wasn’t even near me!) and ask, “Do you think you are a celebrity with those sunglasses on?”.

I was in no mood that morning. I had a very hard time getting ready, it was one of those brush your hair and sit, brush your teeth and sit kind of mornings. I made it halfway to work then had to go back home as I was a dummy and forgot my meds as I was just plain out of it.

I said to him, “I have seizures, how about you mind your own fucking business!!”

Okay, I might have been able to handle that a little better, but it was a Lyme rage moment.

This type of thing reminds me of when my tics were absolutely out of control and strangers would approach me asking what is wrong with me.

Really? I don’t go up to people in a wheelchair and ask why they can’t just get up and walk. People have no manners.

With the tics I always just said I have Tourettes. I actually do from the neurology guidelines, and when they would walk away, I would give them a big ” FA FA FA FUCK YOU! ” Haha.

For Lyme disease Awareness Month, I set up a proposal to discuss Lyme disease with the students at the local high school. I had hopes of perhaps doing a presentation with their environmental science or regular science class.

My reply via email was a polite way of saying that they were filled up for the rest of the year and have a more important ciriculum to fill… like cutting up worms and frogs. He told me to try again next year.

You know what though? I am really proud of myself for putting myself out there, and putting together and doing a presentation in the state that I am in would have been beyond difficult for me, but I really wanted to try to teach the kids the severity of the disease, prevention, the proper way to remove a tick, what to do if you are bit, facts. Anything and everything that could possibly help bring knowledge and awareness. Guess the worms win.

Exhaustion has been a huge problem of mine, and the past few times I have seen my massage therapist, she told me my glands were really swollen. I figured it was detoxing all the bad stuff out of my stomach, especially considering my face is showing the signs of detox. I look like a teenager going through puberty. I’ll get to the swollen glands in a bit.. but the great news is my circulation has been improved this past month. Hooray!

Last week I had an appointment with my favorite Lyme literate naturopath, Dr S. So here is where I stand, and the game plan for right now..

At the moment, we both feel that it is best to work on the gut infection and trying to get the neurological and adrenal stuff balanced out more and have these issues better managed.

I don’t know if I had already mentioned in a previous post, my blood sugar is being funny and keeps dropping when it really shouldn’t be. Low blood sugar is a big no-no for those with a lot of neurological issues. So, I will keep a piece of fruit or something handy. Bizarre though, As my diet consists of carbs especially during treatment to avoid some of the nausea. Medical mystery once again.

He did give me colloidal silver for the meantime, to try to not get any worse. Just a “keep things at bay” thing to take. I think once I get back on track, perhaps amoxacillan and herbals are going to be my next step. I need to take it easy. I don’t really want to go back downhill to where I am, I want to move forward.

Lucky me, I HAVE MONO AGAIN!!!!!! Super. I was trying to blame the exhaustion, constant napping, and being zombie-like on not having my methylcobalamin injections and my swollen glands on getting rid of all the toxins in my body.

Nope. Well, it is going to take awhile to get back on track, but I am being optimistic that maybe once this all clears I will be a lot better and even have made progress by not even treating. Let’s hope!

I guess lastly, I felt terrible yesterday. I had finished tying Olive up outside and all of a sudden my right leg said, “JUST KIDDING!!!” I fell down the steps and nearly half of my body landed on Olive, the other half part of the step went into my back, bruised knee, muscles pulled. I’m okay, just sore, but I wanted to cry for Olive. She didn’t yelp, which would have made me a crying mess. She did have this look, with her eyes as wide as saucers like, “Mommy? What did I do? I didn’t get into the trash or be a bad girl?”

After awhile of not being able to get myself up from falling, my doggie crew came to the rescue. I think Olive realized it was an accident (I still feel like an asshole even though it isn’t really my fault I lost control of a limb), she came over with a wiggle butt and giving me kisses, as well as Cooper.

Chance always knows as he has seen me at my absolute worst, much more than the other two, that something is wrong. He just rests his head on my body and lays down. And that is exactly what he did. He is my absolute love and one of my rocks. I am sure many of you have a furbaby that keeps you going. J

Honestly, it has taken me about a week to write this single blog entry to cover an entire month, so I apologize if it seems like I am all over the place. I probably am a little bit. I probably should have given the warning at the beginning of my entry. Whoops.

So, that is what has been happening in the world of Kimmiecakes. I will continue to press on, and I will do my darndest to give an update sooner. I have a neurology appointment and another appointment with Dr S all set up, so let’s see how this all goes!

13102669_10153619074372404_6803646784670725885_n

I have been sharing pictures of Miss Olive but figured I would show a picture of my little family as it puts a smile on my face. The question is, where am I supposed to sleep? LOL

9 thoughts on “May Part 1 -One Long Vacation..

  1. Thanks for sharing. I love your pets-in-the-bed photo. I hope you have a quite, restful day, knowing that you are enough with having to be in constant “doing” motion. Sunglasses rule – I’d be lost (well, total migrainy) without mine.

  2. As always you inspire me to keep going. We are mono and low blood sugar buddies, who knows what’s going on anymore. Thanks for sharing. Go gut go! XO

  3. Hello! Im a fellow lymie & on IV therapy with flagyl & rocephin. My question is…..before you went off your routine…did your lab work show the infection still going strong in your body? Did you lose faith in lyme dr? I ask because Im getting discouraged with my treatment as well. Thanks very much! Roe

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • I have had to change doctors before with IV treatment. I have my personal beliefs about rocephin, but everyone is different. I feel like one should stick it out with their doctor for awhile then make the decision to move on. Sometimes emotions hinder a good choice because this disease after all, is very discouraging.

  4. Our daughter has low blood sugar issues too. It is hard to manage especially with a very limited diet due to many intolerences.

    If you like avocados and lentils these will help get some fat and protein. Might help with the blood sugar.

    Good luck, Janie

    • Ahh! I can’t eat either with the FODMAPS diet. Well, I can have a very small amount of avocado. I have noticed drinking protein smoothies have helped a TON.

  5. I have endometriosis too and nothing would touch it but Naproxen. Have you tried it? I take 500mg every 4 hours until the pain goes away. It usually is only one really bad day with the pain and cramps. Add this to the lyme and the pain is worse. I am trying a new alternative treatment for lyme called ACT- Advance Cellular training. Its being helping me feel better. The best I felt in two years. Look them up on facebook. They have a lyme specific class. Best of all it requires only your brain to kill the pathogens.

Leave a Reply

